The search for Scotland’s ‘Cycling Champions’ has begun

28 June 2022    

The Cycling Champion of the Year awards recognise the individuals and organisations that have contributed significantly to cycling.

Scotland’s four cycling organisations – Cycling Scotland, Scottish Cycling, Cycling UK and Sustrans Scotland – have launched the search for Scotland’s Cycling Champions.

The Cycling Champion of the Year Awards are Scotland’s national cycling awards and recognise the individuals and organisations that have contributed significantly to cycling at a local or national level in the last year.

Members of the public are being asked to submit nominations using a newly streamlined nominating process across six categories: Visionary Champion, Community Champions for sport and recreation and for everyday cycling, Young Champion, Business Champion and Cycle Shop of the Year.

In 2021, the Cycling Champion Awards were presented to:

  • Dave de Feu, for his decades’ worth of campaigning to make cycling safer and more accessible
  • Farr Out Deliveries, a cargo bike delivery business in Edinburgh
  • Steven Rutherford from Urban Fox Programme for his work to expand cycling in deprived areas in Glasgow
  • and G64, a family-run bike shop committed to supporting social and environmental causes.

Christopher Johnson, Head of Education and Training at Cycling Scotland on behalf of the organising committee said:

With record levels of investment in active travel, and growing excitement ahead of the 2023 World Cycling Championships, this is a hugely exciting time for cycling in Scotland.

Cycling delivers huge benefits, not only to local communities but can also make a significant contribution to tackling wider global issues. In previous years, we’ve celebrated those individuals, communities and organisations that have made a significant impact and we’re looking forward to receiving some excellent nominations in 2022.